A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

If you’re happy and you know it…

There are certain things that always induce copious cheer for my toddler.  No matter his poor disposition at the time, one only need swing him around to a vomit inducing degree, and he will expel hearty chuckles to reward you for your efforts.

Sandra Boynton’s Doggies produces a smile that only widened upon my son seeing the real thing for the first time.  A medium sized dog at a relative’s house that I’m convinced is the true size of a small gerbil if one decided to sheer its coat was the object of my son’s obsession.  On his knees with arms signaling, “Touchdown,” he couldn’t contain his excitement.  Surprisingly gentle pats while panting that is reminiscent of a 1970s horror movie killer; trailing this poor dog around the house like a pathetically neglected significant other dating out of his league.  The dog’s efforts to escape were met with my son weaving in between the ankles of unsuspecting party guests.  All seven teeth visible whenever the scooting shag carpet was in view.  Periodically, my son would stumble upon me or my husband, and with excited eyes, point at the dog saying, “Dee! Dee!”  So, I guess that’s another word?

I stumbled upon another consistent mood elevator with Mr. Man.  In an effort to expose my son to peers, I participate in a gym class with him.  His newest fixation is a trampoline.  While he is willing to take turns with other children…sort of…his persistence to utilize this contraption as much as realistically possible is impressive.  His only effort to climb on a piece of furniture illustrates his motivation.  Once on the netting he will do several things, but his absolute favorite is when I sit next to him in the middle and bounce.  With space under me, he and I erupt like popcorn; my son giggling as he is tossed about, bumping into and on me in ways that look painful or at least unpleasant.  But, no, he wants more, and I have to admit I enjoy the trampoline as well.  Exiting in order to give another child the opportunity to indulge, I make a mental note of future whining and begging for which I must brace myself, but this Lady will not have a Tramp…

What are your thoughts?

