A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Encounters

Only moments ago I felt my daughter for the first time; she is an early bird.  I was not expecting the possibility until next week, marking fifteen.  I was rereading a couple of earlier posts, as I tend to do when I want to reminisce about my son’s earlier moments.  Reading, “Magnitude,” illustrating his delivery brought tears to my eyes once again, but I am pregnant so the welling occurred two-thirds through instead of the last line.

Midway through I felt her; a tiny, fleeting tap in my front left.  So sudden and unexpected that I almost missed it.

I’ve been laying in bed the entirety of the past week in quiet stillness, desperate hoping for her known presence…I’ve never been particularly patient with these types of things…  I’ve lulled to sleep in vague disappointment questioning every dubious abdominal sensation, but tonight she did not want to be ignored.

Moving forward she will express her pleasures with increasing intensity, but for now I can confirm she is there beyond a growing belly.  There is a ways to go before our experience can be shared with other eager bodies, and for that I am grateful.

With her sudden tap I looked down and asked if she were thinking about her entrance, and I reassured her that she will enter the world in her own special way.

What are your thoughts?

