A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Sugar and Spice, but Not So Nice

I am a lot of things right now, but it’s all such a rush that I can’t place exactly what I’m experiencing.  Maybe the specifics don’t matter because it isn’t good.  I was an idiot for my one-hour glucose screening; perhaps too arrogant.  My appointment was at three, so I wouldn’t be fasting like I did with my son.  I should have opted for a first thing in the morning appointment…coulda, should, woulda…  Without thinking ate three servings of chocolate before heading out to my appointment.  Even though I had a bit of a drive to the hospital and an ultrasound first, both were surprisingly efficient.

I failed the test and sentenced to the unpleasant three-hour glucose test.  I’m fairly phobic of needles, but felt optimistic with the nurse who drew the first of four; it was virtually painless.  Just as she wrapped my arm in a fancy way that eliminates bruising like magic, she informed me someone else would be taking my last three blood samples.  I knew this other person; she is terrible.

Over the years I’ve made my peace with undergoing blood tests; I no longer feel as though I will faint.  I must say, though, this individual gives me a run for my money.  Not only is the needle stick painful, but so is the duration of the draw.  I can’t believe I managed the remaining three like a mature adult with blasé, humorous commentary.  Although, if I’m honest, the third one left me a bit green with an aching arm for forty-five minutes.

But, I left hopeful.  I did not have gestational diabetes with my son.  My only risk factors are my age and my father’s diabetes that he manages with his diet.  I eat well and exercise religiously.  I was at a healthy pre pregnancy weight.  My fasting glucose has always been good, and it did not occur to me, or perhaps I didn’t want to consider the fact that things would not continue to move along as they should for the duration of this pregnancy.

It was Friday, and with the blessing of technology, I was able to see my results at eight that evening.  My fasting level was perfect; literally, in the middle of the range.  My one-hour was well within range.  My two-hour was a bit out of range, but falling.  My three-hour shot up to well past any of the other numbers; it was almost 200 actually.

Looking at the screen in an incoherent daze, I needed my husband to translate what was happening.  The next step was calling my father, a physician who manages his glucose effectively.  I relayed my numbers, to which he informed me that with my profile, the last value is impossible.  My father-in-law with the same professional and health resume as my dad said the same.

The weekend passes, but I felt every minute.  Apparently Dr. Google never encountered my issue…that’s comforting…

I call my Ob-Gyn Monday; It’s her day off…lovely…I find waiting exhilarating…  I leave a message for her to call me back; not a nurse.  If my last number is strange, I don’t want to wait by the phone with a vomiting child going through a hierarchical process of repetitive explanations to befuddled listeners.  I love to talk, but at some point the simple thrill of conversation is lost.

Later Monday a nurse calls…so glad communication is so effective at this practice.  She doesn’t tell me my results, rather conveys that they are referring me to the diabetes clinic as though she is offering me a cheese sandwich in such a way that I will find it mildly amusing…I didn’t.  She didn’t know I called and she doesn’t know anything about my specific results…that was the high point of the conversation.  Not only is this individual unaware that a diagnosis of gestational diabetes is not received as good news, she continues to tell me that I will be assessed by the clinic checking my sugar multiple times a day for several days…Apparently, that was the appropriate response to, “Something isn’t right about my fourth glucose value.”  Then she brattles on about all these classes and appointments I will have to attend, but she doesn’t know if I can bring my son with me.  When I attempt to ask for clarification, likely inarticulately advocating some of the challenges, she changes her tone to perfected patronization that this is important for the health of my baby.  Had I been of a better mind at the time I could have said something to the effect of, “Thank you, Captain Obvious, clearly my reaction is because of my intent to peace-out because of this minor inconvenience.”

I like to think that I’m a fairly level individual.  I’ve successfully created and run behavioral schools for adolescents that were mere months from shutting their doors.  I’ve worked with various incarcerated populations.  Suffice it to say I’ve had diverse and colorful employment experiences, and to manage those well I like to consider that I’m not a complete wing-nut, even while preggers.  But, perhaps I’ve been mistaken all these years…

My husband was out of the country, succumbing to whatever ailment of the week  my son contracted as soon as his plane landed.  My son’s stomach bug in conjunction with a snow storm keeping us homebound kept me isolated much of the week.  How many days did I receive unsolicited advice and various inquiries?  These past days were a blur with the finale having my son relapse a bit with his illness and unable to be independent.  I had such lofty plans for my husband’s return; my intent to ensure small things were completed, so he could sigh in relief in stepping through the doors.  Three guesses if any of this happened, and the first two don’t count.

Last night my doctor called with the comment to check-in because of my fear of needles; she was equally confused.  Clarifying my concern about the final glucose value resulted in her confessing that she just looks to see if her patients pass or fail.  It’s been twenty years since her residency, and she just doesn’t remember glucose values.  Should I be pleased that she took my word for it that the fourth was amuck?  Interestingly, when I called the clinic earlier, they did not receive my blood work…an unusual occurrence?  Had I never said anything I would go through the gestational diabetes intervention without anyone looking at my actual glucose results…hmmm…

At the end of the day, I’m taking the three-hour glucose test again tomorrow morning…with the same phlebotomist.  I’m tired, waking up with hip pain every hour for the last two nights that intensified from the other two trimesters.  I’m drained and scared.  I’m many things I can’t identify, but I feel foolish.  I don’t feel particularly hopeful this will relieve my diagnosis, and after this week I don’t know how I will manage the gestational diabetes intervention.  I know I will because I have to, but what am I going to do?

 

748 responses to “Sugar and Spice, but Not So Nice

  1. Phone Psychic Readings June 22, 2017 at 1:55 pm

    Excellent design and style and fantastic blog posts.

    Like

  2. psychic reading June 22, 2017 at 1:52 pm

    Just would like remark that you have a very nice website, I like the layout it actually shines.

    Like

  3. online psychic reading June 22, 2017 at 1:13 pm

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any good quality articles or blogs on this sort of area
    . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web
    site. Reading through this information made me completely happy
    that I’ve discovered exactly what I needed.

    Like

  4. เบอร์มงคล 41 June 17, 2017 at 2:58 pm

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thanks for supplying this information.

    Like

  5. www.kiwibox.com June 16, 2017 at 2:13 am

    Incredibly nice article, i surely love this website, keep writing.

    Like

  6. psychic reading June 15, 2017 at 6:39 pm

    I enjoy your way of writing really enjoy this web site.

    Like

  7. cheap phone psychic June 15, 2017 at 6:18 pm

    Thanks for the tips you have provided here. Cheers!

    Like

  8. physic reading June 15, 2017 at 5:45 pm

    I truly adore the theme on your website, I run a web site, and i would enjoy to make use of this theme.

    Like

  9. wallinside.com June 15, 2017 at 3:34 pm

    This is very interesting, you’re a very experienced blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to reading more of your fantastic post.
    Likewise, I have shared your site in my social networks!

    Like

  10. online psychic readings June 15, 2017 at 2:59 pm

    You made some good points there. I did research online on the subject
    and found most people will agree with your blog.

    Like

  11. cheap Psychic readings June 15, 2017 at 1:11 pm

    I’m definitely bookmarking this website and sharing it with my acquaintances.
    You’ll be getting plenty of visitors to your site from me!

    Like

  12. psychics online June 15, 2017 at 1:05 pm

    At times its a pain in the ass to read what blog owners
    wrote yet this site is truly remarkable and I truly
    treasure your good article, Excellent post.

    Like

  13. bensongutacfrtpo.shutterfly.com June 15, 2017 at 12:30 pm

    Many thanks, I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for some time and yours is the greatest I’ve found until now.

    Like

  14. Chimi printing June 14, 2017 at 1:59 am

    I think that is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad studying your article. But should remark on few
    normal issues, The site tyle is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D.

    Good process, cheers

    Like

  15. Penzu.Com June 13, 2017 at 11:14 pm

    I saw a lot of website but I believe this one has got something special in it.
    Many thanks for sharing.

    Like

  16. www.blogigo.com June 13, 2017 at 9:44 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re obtaining your information and
    facts, but fantastic topic. I must spend some time learning
    or knowing more. Thank you for wonderful information.
    I was looking for this information.

    Like

  17. www.4shared.com June 13, 2017 at 8:34 pm

    I found simply the information and facts I already searched throughout
    the place and simply couldn’t come across. What an ideal website.

    Like

  18. psychic Readings By phone June 13, 2017 at 7:56 pm

    Appealing post, I am going to spend more hours learning about this subject.

    Like

  19. psychic Online June 13, 2017 at 6:55 pm

    I added this article to my personal favorites and plan to come back to for more outstanding articles.
    It’s all too easy to read and comprehend as well as smart post.
    I definitely enjoyed my first read all through this article.

    Like

  20. http://gillespiepcgsadksqa.soup.io/post/623565422/cheap-psychic-readers-94 June 13, 2017 at 5:55 pm

    Your grasp of this topic is awesome. It
    actually touched me and I’m pleased I found this material.

    Thanks to you.

    Like

  21. psychic reading June 13, 2017 at 5:39 pm

    You’ve made different nice points here. I see something really special in this site.
    Thanks for posting.

    Like

  22. cheap phone Psychic June 13, 2017 at 4:25 pm

    You’ve got some really interesting info here, well written and your website is user-friendly.

    Like

  23. physic reading June 12, 2017 at 8:13 pm

    I went over this site and I think you have lots of great
    information, saved as a favorite.

    Like

  24. nappyinvasion708.shutterfly.com June 12, 2017 at 7:48 pm

    Fantastic post, I think website owners ought
    to learn so much from this web blog its user-friendly as well as posts are wonderful.

    Like

  25. cheap psychic readers June 12, 2017 at 7:24 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and beginning a new scheme
    in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to focus on. You have done a remarkable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

    Like

  26. Yvonne June 12, 2017 at 6:33 pm

    I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am
    not sure whether this post is published by him or anyone
    else but this such detailed post and i like reading.

    Like

  27. http://Protectiverecor96.Shutterfly.com/ June 12, 2017 at 6:07 pm

    Many thanks for sharing this story. I’m definitely fed up
    with struggling to find relevant and smart commentary on this subject.
    Everyone these days seem to go to extremes to either
    drive home their perspective or suggest that everyone else in the globe is wrong.
    thank you for your concise as well as relevant insight.

    Like

  28. Real psychic readings June 12, 2017 at 5:21 pm

    I think you did a wonderful job explaining it in your article.
    Sure beats having to research it on my own. Thank you.

    Like

  29. scarremoval27.sosblogs.com June 12, 2017 at 4:59 pm

    Hey there i just visited your website for the very first time and i extremely liked it, i saved it and will be back.

    Like

  30. psychic online June 12, 2017 at 4:52 pm

    Really wonderful information can be found on this blog.

    Like

  31. Joethehandyguy60.Skyrock.com June 12, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    Thank you for this; I’m officially a huge fan of your blog.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

