A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Pregnancy Woe, Whoa, Woooa…

There was a certain excitement when I first started showing with both pregnancies, but second time around I started showing very early, at five weeks.  Sadly it probably looked more like gas, but I didn’t want to admit it at the time.  By second trimester, I was looking…large, but that’s okay because it isn’t a problem to look pregnant when you actually are pregnant.  If you’re not, then it is heartbreaking, but not enough to put the chocolate cake down.  Yeah, that happened, but it’s a post for another time.

Pregnancy is funny that way; I will have the same girth for weeks, but then my fetus eats another fetus or something because I’ll suddenly look at myself and there is definitely more of me.  This REALLY started happening at the end of my second trimester.  I periodically issued commentary to my wonderfully honest husband akin to, “It’s probably my imagination, but I could swear I suddenly look bigger.”  That would be his cue to look up from whatever free physics-based computer game he was playing, and blandly glance at me with the statement, “No, it’s not.  You’re bigger.”  Then he would return to his game, and I would have confirmation that I’m not crazy…at least not on this issue.

Well, I’m about thirty-three weeks now.  My last ultrasound almost ten weeks ago had the Warrior Queen in the eighty-first percentile…clearly not my side of the family.  My doctor measured my bump recently mentioning that I’m carrying large; none of this shocking.  And, it wasn’t shocking when I ran into a friend of my husband’s while voting in our primary who asked if I was sure there is only one in there.  Sounds insulting, right?  It isn’t.  I look hot, but it takes twenty minutes to see me after my belly arrives on scene…

Two days ago was another one of those, “I could swear,” moments.  I look absolutely enormous.  My husband kindly said that our daughter will be in another time zone soon, and I have to agree.  I am four weeks from full-term, and at this rate I’ll be giving birth to a beautiful bouncing baby teenager…who ate Godzilla…and Tokyo.

 

8 responses to “Pregnancy Woe, Whoa, Woooa…

  1. Flop til you drop "FTYD" March 13, 2016 at 11:12 am

    OMG, this is hysterical! I’m laughing with you as one parent to another. However, although I felt huge and looked bigger, my kids were tiny things. I never had a perfectly rounded belly either, how all these cute ladies looked. Mine was always some strange shape. Google. Honey, do I look like a hexagon today?

    So, how is driving? I remember my foot almost not reaching the pedal, or my belly was squished against the steering wheel. That’s the real reason some cars started allowing two positions for steering wheels. If you’re preggers, you want this Honda Odyssey.

    Like

    • apprehensively expecting March 13, 2016 at 11:29 am

      With my first I was big everywhere, which was more about the chocolate than the actual pregnancy… I was big then too, and I remember toward the end struggling to reach the pedals without the steering wheel impaling me. So far I don’t have that problem per se. Having diabetes this time around really helps from the extra poundage overall, but my belly could be its own carnival act…

      Like

      • Flop til you drop "FTYD" March 13, 2016 at 11:48 am

        I had diabetes my 2nd pregnancy too

        Like

      • apprehensively expecting March 13, 2016 at 1:31 pm

        So very delightful…I’m starting insulin any time now, and I’d like to say that I’m capable of behaving like something other than a little bitch about it…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Flop til you drop "FTYD" March 13, 2016 at 1:42 pm

        I some how was able to be very restrictive on what I ate (they sent me to Sweet something – can’t recall the name) a program run by dieticians / nurses that helped me eat correctly, and monitor my blood sugar levels. It was miserable! I did it though, and my doctor was surprised especially for how long a period of 5 months? She said very few people can manage that and most need medicine. But I was MISERABLE the entire time.

        My heart goes out to you, as I know what you’re going through. 🙂 It’s good to have a sense of humor. Both my pregnancies had to be induced to deliver early for fear they would get too big.

        Like

      • apprehensively expecting March 13, 2016 at 2:25 pm

        I’ve been a successful Weight Watcher for years, so the eating isn’t so bad, albeit an adjustment…Okay, I want an orange, so I guess I should eat some cheese too…Wait, how big is that orange? Maybe I need two cheese sticks for this snack… It’s definitely more thinking than I like to put into EVERY meal experience. My after meal numbers look terrific, but my fasting is borderline. Given that I threw up in the nurse’s trashcan just having to learn about sugar monitoring, they are doing a week-to-week wait and see. So far my fasting is just on the cusp of okay…sort of… But, since I’ll get more resistant through 35 weeks, it’s just a matter of time. I’m not sure of their benchmark, but I think I might have reached it this week. I’ll find out tomorrow though…because everyone likes getting bad news first thing Monday morning…said no sane person…ever…

        I trend early and I’m four weeks until full-term, technically, so my goal is to go as long as possible before starting. One, the whole needle thing, but also because this shit is expensive!

        Like

      • Flop til you drop "FTYD" March 13, 2016 at 5:44 pm

        I hate Weight Watchers. I did it for awhile, until I discovered Medifast.

        Like

      • apprehensively expecting March 13, 2016 at 6:07 pm

        Everyone finds their way, and what works for them…

        Like

What are your thoughts?

