A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

The Power of Song?

I sing to Mr. Man all the time.  I have a fairly terrible voice, but he doesn’t care, and sometimes it prevents him from launching feet into my chest and face while I’m attempting to change his diaper.  Little Man requests all sorts of songs throughout the day, and I love looking at his beaming smile during the multiple renditions of every childhood song I’ve had to learn throughout these two years.  Naturally, the Warrior Queen was along for the ride, unable to escape the tunes my son urged.

I’m also perpetually reading stories to my son.  All varieties from well written to garbage that I can’t remember receiving.  It doesn’t matter what it is; he just loves a tale.  When my daughter had the room to move in my belly, I often felt her flipping a certain way whenever I read a book to my son.  Once she ran out of room, such movements stopped, but I felt confident she continued to enjoy the entertainment.

Now that my fierce girl is born, it is too early to know if she will enjoy books on the level as her brother; I hope so.  But, undeniably my singing provides comfort I never expected.

My first indication was seconds after her birth, wailing as all newborns do when thrust into the outer world.  My singing calmed her so quickly it didn’t completely register at the time.  If my husband hadn’t recorded it, I might not believe it almost a week later.

As I did with my son, I held my daughter throughout those first days in the hospital singing even when she was asleep.  When she was unhappy and uttering her discontented squeaks, a chorus of some random tune would be hushed in melodic breaths, and she would settle.

One occasion occurred just after I fed her a bottle.  Within minutes of my placing her in her hospital Tupperware container, she began to fuss, clearly not ready to be on her own quite yet.  I returned her to the crooks of my arms, wide awake she focused on my eyes as I sang.  With every ounce of effort she kept her eyes open, but they became heavier as the moments passed.  My girl fought sleep as long as she could, peering through barely visible slits before losing the fight.  The slumber kept that time, but I continued to hold this sweet girl who already knows what she wants.  And, times such as these I’m only too happy to oblige.

321 responses to “The Power of Song?

  1. serovital hgh Reviews October 17, 2017 at 3:54 am

    Oh my goodness! a great post man. Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  2. football teams October 17, 2017 at 1:59 am

    Hеllo! Someone in my Myѕpace grouр shared this site with ᥙs so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!

    Excellent blog and terrific style and design.

    Like

  3. link October 16, 2017 at 2:42 pm

    Your method of telling everything in this paragraph is actually good, every one be
    capable of simply understand it, Thanks a lot.

    Like

  4. take a look at the site here October 16, 2017 at 2:10 pm

    What’s up mates, its fantastic piece of writing concerning
    tutoringand fully defined, keep it up all the time.

    Like

  5. associazionelaginestra.it October 16, 2017 at 1:49 pm

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve
    really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed
    and I am hoping you write again very soon!

    Like

  6. next October 16, 2017 at 12:06 pm

    I was able to find good info from your articles.

    Like

  7. Read Even More October 16, 2017 at 10:47 am

    Very soon this web page will be famous amid all blogging viewers, due to it’s good posts

    Like

  8. more information October 16, 2017 at 9:21 am

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the long run and it’s time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I may I wish to counsel you some interesting things or
    suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles regarding
    this article. I wish to learn even more issues approximately it!

    Like

  9. browse around this website October 16, 2017 at 8:28 am

    I used to be able to find good advice from your content.

    Like

  10. Going In This Article October 16, 2017 at 8:16 am

    I am in fact thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared
    this wonderful paragraph at here.

    Like

  11. the greatest solution October 15, 2017 at 7:38 pm

    What’s up friends, its great piece of writing about tutoringand completely explained, keep
    it up all the time.

    Like

  12. head units October 15, 2017 at 3:18 pm

    My family members always say that I am killing my time here at net, except I know I
    am getting experience everyday by reading thes fastidious articles.

    Like

  13. www.car-hifi-radio-adapter.eu October 15, 2017 at 12:31 am

    I do not even know how I finished up right here, but I assumed
    this publish was once great. I do not recognise who you’re but definitely you are going to a famous blogger for those who aren’t already.

    Cheers!

    Like

  14. Autoradio Einbauset Doppel DIN October 14, 2017 at 10:48 am

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you will be a great
    author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will often come back sometime soon. I want to encourage
    you continue your great work, have a nice day!

    Like

  15. musical preference October 14, 2017 at 6:27 am

    I am genuinely grateful to the holder of this web page who has shared this
    great article at here.

    Like

  16. musical preference October 12, 2017 at 4:44 pm

    I was more than happy to discover this web site. I wanted to thank you for ones
    time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely savored every
    part of it and I have you book-marked to look at new things in your web site.

    Like

  17. V Tight Gel Reviews October 12, 2017 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks for the post.I like your writing style and I’m trying to start a blog myself, I think I might read
    thru all your posts for some recommendations! Thanks once more.

    Like

  18. V Tight Gel Review October 12, 2017 at 1:16 pm

    Hello there! Excellent blog post! Please keep all of us posted!

    Like

  19. V-Tight Gel Review October 12, 2017 at 1:15 pm

    Outstanding post, you have pointed out some excellent details, I believe
    this is a good site.

    Like

  20. Cdn.Retnid.network October 12, 2017 at 12:43 pm

    I got what you mean, saved to bookmarks, excellent site.

    Like

  21. Darlene October 12, 2017 at 12:24 pm

    Nice to be visiting your blog once again. Great this post.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  22. V Tight Gel October 12, 2017 at 12:21 pm

    Great I must certainly pronounce, impressed with your site.
    I didn’t have problems navigating throughand also related info ended up being truly accessible.

    Like

  23. V Tight Gel October 12, 2017 at 12:11 pm

    Terrific posts from you, dude. I’ve figured out your idea and you’re
    just really fantastic. I love what you have here, actually like what you’re stating as well as the way by which
    you say it. You make it engaging. I cant wait to read a lot more
    from you. This is really a wonderful website.

    Like

  24. V-Tight Gel Reviews October 12, 2017 at 12:08 pm

    Thank you for sharing. I am impressed with your website.
    I am going to publish this to my facebook wall.

    Like

  25. V Tight Gel Review October 12, 2017 at 12:04 pm

    Hello there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and
    amazing design and style.

    Like

  26. accessories October 12, 2017 at 2:41 am

    I appreciate, result in I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great
    day. Bye

    Like

  27. Bali Tour Packages October 11, 2017 at 11:59 pm

    My family all the time say hat I am killing myy time here at net, however
    I know I am getting knowledge everyday by reading thes pleasant posts.

    Like

  28. new head units October 10, 2017 at 8:31 pm

    Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Taking the time and actual effort
    to make a very good article… but what can I say…
    I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

    Like

  29. Lonnie October 9, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    Asking questions are truly pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything
    fully, except this paragraph presents nice understanding yet.

    Like

  30. vigrx delay spray review October 9, 2017 at 8:09 am

    I’d always wish to be updated on new articles on this site, saved
    them to my top picks!

    Like

  31. penis delay spray October 9, 2017 at 8:02 am

    I love this web blog a lot. Countless outstanding information.

    Like

  32. Laser treatment for toenail Fungus October 8, 2017 at 11:50 pm

    I qսite like reading thrоugh a post that ԝill make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!

    Like

  33. www.diavolella.it October 5, 2017 at 9:35 am

    Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    advice from an established blog. Is it tough to
    set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out
    pretty quick. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Thanks

    Like

  34. Online sex toys For couples October 5, 2017 at 7:03 am

    Hi every one, here every one is sharing these knowledge, so it’s fastidious to read this weblog, and I used to pay a quick visit this weblog
    daily.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

