A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Close from the Start

My dear, sweet boy has been afraid to touch his sister, not wanting to hurt her and understanding how delicate she is in these early stages.  But, there has been progress in the last couple days.  Little Man has held his sister twice.

Last night was the first, and he was a bit afraid, but looked exhilarated with her seven pound body resting between his legs.  While she slept, his eyes darted, looking down at his charge and back and forth between me and my husband, displaying careful smiles mixed with uncertain glances.  My son lasted just long enough to capture the moment on our camera.

This morning he was a bit more eager and comfortable holding the Warrior Queen, and she was more awake.  She isn’t socially smiling yet, but during this encounter she looked up at her brother and presented the widest smile I’ve seen yet.  My son noticed and looked at me grinning.  I hope that exchange is a sign of the bond to come.

2 responses to “Close from the Start

  1. thewannabemother May 19, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    Aww it sounds like it’s hopefully going well 🙂 bless him. When my sister in law was pregnant with my youngest nephew my eldest nephew said if he had a sister he would eat her Haha so at least he doesn’t want to do that!! Xx

    Like

What are your thoughts?

