A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Sweet Dreams

This just has to be documented for what I desperately hope isn’t the beginning of many more similar tales, but I suspect this will be old hat soon…sigh.

My husband is wonderful, entertaining our two-year-old little man for almost the entire day while I tended to the Warrior Queen, which amounted to feeding her and lounging on the sofa with a sprawled infant on my chest.  I even managed to eat lunch vaguely within the lunch hour realm.  Consequently, tonight I was in charge of Mr. Man’s bedtime routine.

My son was on my lap brushing his teeth before I took over when I noticed the entire front of his shorts were wet.  Great sleuth I am assumed correctly it was urine.  Well, that’s a puzzle.  I check his diaper, and half of it is unattached.  That is also a puzzle.  Then I notice brown crust on his lower leg, yup, poop.  That was the final puzzle prompting me to call downstairs to my husband asking why there was poop on our son’s leg.  Our house hollering virtually overlapped with my husband indicating that our son had excavated poop out of his diaper and threw it on the floor in front of the family room book shelf.  I was sitting all evening in that very room, so how craptastic at parenting am I that I was oblivious to my son engaging in a fecal drop ‘n’ roll in front of me?  Perhaps some questions are best left unanswered.

2 responses to “Sweet Dreams

  1. Lana The Mother November 3, 2016 at 8:50 am

    Oh God, it must have been a frustrating experience! he might did it to draw your attention. Kids are amazing, you don’t know what comes in their minds!!

    Like

    • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) November 3, 2016 at 5:02 pm

      Fortunately, after six weeks of fighting the sandman, he’s back to his 2-3 hour naps. Lately, he’s even sleeping later into the morning by 30-45 minutes. Of course, if I’m lucky, my daughter will sleep in until 5/5.30. She isn’t the best napper, but we’ve found our rhythm, and it happened sooner than I would have expected.

      Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

