A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

The Limitless Rosie

Six-month-old Warrior Queen has lots to say. When she’s happy or sad it isn’t about a simple cry, but determined and enthusiastic baby babble uterances. I don’t know what she’s saying, but I know what she’s saying. I don’t have an ideal for who I hope she will become as she transitions through her various life stages, but I hope she always will have something to say.

I spent years quiet, intimidated; but none of it helped me become a good, or even adequate listener. I was the floral wallpaper, coated in beige with no colorful or noteworthy markings.

As an approaching forty-year-old woman fortunate to have birthed such a fierce and determined sprite of a girl, I strive to be a worthy model. She hasn’t confronted the forces determined to quelch her into a timid spirit, so I hope to help her navigate those times when she does. Maybe help her rise above those who wish her to be a nice and good girl.

Image result for powerful yelling girl
(Although about time-outs, PBS knows the rightful disposition of a girl.)

 

I want my daughter to know her place. I want her to internalize that her place is whereever she asserts, and she has every right to scream it from every corner and high rise…except when it’s three in the morning. At that time I’m delighted if she chooses to rest.

2 responses to “The Limitless Rosie

  1. Lana The Mother December 9, 2016 at 6:08 am

    wow, great post! Now, after I had my girl, I know what does it mean to have concerns, and striving to be the perfect model! We all -as parents- want our kids to be something, and always have something worth to be said! really like it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

