A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Receptacle

This isn’t my first post about post pregnancy body image. I’m still proud of my body as a reproductive entitiy. Almost daily I look at my children, especially Warrior Queen, and try to comprehend that I grew these two beings from some cells. It’s remarkable.

Enduring Gestational Diabetes with my second, I haven’t had all that much baby weight to lose, but like the poundage loss process after my son’s pregnancy, the shed is glacial.

I’ve heard just about every cliché and wife dogma when I express my frustrations with the lingering weight that won’t budge despite a focused and previously effective attack plan. Those offering such tid-bits of support should feel fortunate my reciprocating response stops at an eye roll so hard it gives me a view of my tonsils. One of the more frustrating and obnoxious comments is that carrying extra weight is minor because I’ve birthed a healthy miracle.

Image result for eye roll

(No, I’m really grateful for your input. I was just checking that my hairline was where I left it.)

The thing is, wanting to look and feel my best is not a superficial musing. I’m not sure exactly how it came to pass that mothers are not permitted to embrace their own badass MILF selves. Possessing a strong desire to look attractive and enjoy what I see in the mirror is a pursuit I’m entitled to include within my growing list of priorities. Furthermore, it is important for my children to see me embrace myself as valuable, independent of them however I choose to define it.

Another introspection that boggles is when I consider the reality of my shape compared to motherhood body misconceptions I held for most of my life. Before my son’s pregnancy, like many women I feared the inevitable carnage having a child would have on my form. It isn’t that I expect perfection or that I was ever anything close before my axis tilted. But, I was terrifyingly certain I would never look good again, and I like to look good even if I am woefully below airbrushed excellence.

For the year it took for me to lose the almost entirety of my son’s pregnancy weight, I was surprised by the process, maybe even delighted by the complexity of the experience.

That said, it bothers me to work so hard, yet have my body shed excess fat with an excruciating meander. But, the experience’s totality isn’t so bad. Even though I gained a significant amount more after my son’s pregnancy, I was struck by the difference in my appearance when I compared myself to pictures of a similar weight gain not credited with growing a human. Hovering at the same forty-five pound increase on my small frame, post Little Man, I simply did not look as heavy as I was for most of my twenties. That was interesting.

Currently, I’m about a clothing size away from my pre- pre-pregnancy size, but my body is forever changed. I used to hip ride my pants, no more. I embrace my mom jeans. And, really, if they are good enough for a president, what am I complaining about?

Image result for obama mom jeans(My tushie can totally compete with his!)

Prior to brewing Warrior Queen, my hips were wider, so were my thighs. My belly, for the most part, regained its former shape. So, while my old cut of pants yielded an uncomfortable muffin top, I could still rock a two piece bathing suit…in the event that we ever go on a vacation again. My general figure was a bit curvier with a slightly smaller waist. When I lost my first round of baby weight, I had less cellulite than I had at any other point in my life. My body, while not svelte, had significantly more definition as well. Even with seven more pounds left to shirk, my physique is all the more defined. I didn’t think that was possible. A bit more baby weight or not I look good, even if my weight number isn’t quite my ideal.

To look good has been an intense labor, but it’s one born of increasing love that was absent before experiencing the chemistry of motherhood. It feels strange to accept, or even admit that I, mostly, love my body in all of its quirky ways. It almost feels wrong to see my middle age baby body objectively surpassing the beauty of my gymnast teen years, even with spider veins aplenty. My children are at the age of expressing unconditional love as I never knew it to be, so why not bestow myself with the very regard I see on their beautiful faces when I enter a room? I’ve certainly earned it.

156 responses to “Receptacle

  1. find here August 16, 2017 at 9:22 pm

    I want to admit that this is incredibly useful, Thanks for taking your time to compose this.

    Like

  2. location August 16, 2017 at 1:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing exceptional informations.
    Your site is very cool. I’m stunned at the details
    which you’ve put on this site. It reveals how effectively you recognize this subject.
    Bookmarked this web page, will return for a lot more articles.

    You, dude, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across.
    What a perfect website.

    Like

  3. site August 13, 2017 at 5:59 am

    Thank you for excellent post. Keep us posted.

    Like

  4. caitlynmccoll.blog.ru August 9, 2017 at 11:16 pm

    Keep up the fantastic piece of work, I read few blog posts on this website and I believe that your
    site is really interesting and has a lot of fantastic information.

    Like

  5. Vigrx Plus Ingredients August 9, 2017 at 10:42 pm

    You’re a very persuasive writer. I can see this in your article.
    You’ve got a way of writing persuasive information that sparks much interest.

    Like

  6. Vigrx Plus Before And After August 9, 2017 at 6:08 pm

    I posted this article to my top picks and intend to return to
    for more excellent articles. It’s all too easy to read plus understand as well as intelligent post.

    I really enjoyed my first read throughout this post.

    Like

  7. Vigrx Plus Reviews August 9, 2017 at 4:28 pm

    I want to comment that you have a very nice website,
    I really like the design and style it really stands apart.

    Like

  8. Vaughn August 9, 2017 at 1:21 pm

    Hi there, for all time i used to check weblog posts here in the early hours in the break of day, as i enjoy to gain knowledge of
    more and more.

    Like

  9. Increase Penis Size August 9, 2017 at 5:43 am

    Great site, nice and easy on the eyes and fantastic content as well.

    Like

  10. Vigrx Plus Side Effects August 9, 2017 at 4:57 am

    I’m only commenting to inform you of the amazing experience our
    girl experienced reading the blog. She noticed numerous pieces, which included how it is like
    to possess an amazing giving nature to get certain people really easily learn certain multifaceted things.
    You certainly surpassed visitors’ desires. I appreciate you
    for rendering the important, healthy, educational along with easy suggestions about the
    topic.

    Like

  11. Vigrxplus August 9, 2017 at 4:35 am

    Keep all the articles coming. I really like reading your posts.
    Thank you.

    Like

  12. Vigrx Plus Results August 9, 2017 at 3:03 am

    Great I must definitely pronounce, impressed with your site.
    I didn’t have difficulty navigating throughand also related info ended up being truly accessible.

    Like

  13. vigrxplusreviews65.myblog.de August 9, 2017 at 1:25 am

    I’d should talk to you here. Which is not one thing I do!
    I quite like reading a post which can make individuals
    believe. Also, thanks enabling me to comment!

    Like

  14. view homepage August 7, 2017 at 6:33 am

    I’ve lately launched a site, the information you provide on this
    web site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all
    of your time and efforts.

    Like

  15. Leandro August 6, 2017 at 12:16 pm

    I like this web site very much, It’s actually nice to read and learn more information.

    Like

  16. Vigrx Plus Reviews August 3, 2017 at 10:52 am

    I like this website much for it has a lot of great information.

    Like

  17. Enlarge Penis Naturally August 3, 2017 at 8:27 am

    We’re pleased to become visitor on this great website, thanks for this rare info!

    Like

  18. phone psychic reading August 3, 2017 at 5:01 am

    Many thanks, I’ve just been seeking information about this topic for some time and yours is the best
    I’ve discovered till now.

    Like

  19. free online accurate tarot reading August 3, 2017 at 1:03 am

    I wanna admit that this is incredibly beneficial, Thank you for taking your time to compose this.

    Like

  20. phone psychic reading August 2, 2017 at 4:41 pm

    It can be tough to write about this topic. I think you did an outstanding job though!

    Thank you for this!

    Like

  21. Www.sivivienda-ep.gob.ec/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=285748 July 26, 2017 at 9:25 am

    My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at
    web, however I know I am getting experience everyday by reading
    such nice content.

    Like

  22. Greta July 18, 2017 at 8:19 pm

    I cling on to listening to the rumor talk about receiving boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for
    the finest site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i
    find some?

    Like

  23. 9apps July 18, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a information!
    existing here at this blog, thanks admin of this web page.

    Like

  24. physic free reading July 11, 2017 at 5:30 am

    I’ve lately launched a website, the information you offer on this
    site has assisted me tremendously. Many thanks for all of your time and
    work.

    Like

  25. lat=37.780600&lng=-121.990400&zoom=12 July 2, 2017 at 5:02 pm

    I really like what you guys are up to. Such smart work as well as exposure!
    Continue the great works guys I’ve included you guys to
    my own blogroll.

    Like

  26. Lavina July 2, 2017 at 4:43 pm

    As I website owner I believe the content material material here is really fantastic.

    Congratulations.

    Like

  27. locksmith July 2, 2017 at 4:40 pm

    This article was really appealing, specially since I was searching for applying
    for grants this subject last Thursday. Keep posting.

    Like

  28. locksmith near me July 2, 2017 at 4:03 pm

    Woah I enjoy your site content, saved! My wife and
    i loved your posts.

    Like

  29. Cityinsider.com July 2, 2017 at 2:36 pm

    I found simply the information and facts I already searched throughout the place
    and simply couldn’t run into. What an ideal website.

    Like

  30. http://www.igotbiz.com July 2, 2017 at 2:14 pm

    Thank you for this amazing post, I am happy I discovered this web site on the search engines.

    Like

  31. www.mycityfaces.com July 2, 2017 at 2:09 pm

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on distinct blogs everyday.

    It will always be stimulating to read content of excellent writers
    like you. I’d choose to use some content in my small weblog in case
    you don’t mind. Naturally I’ll provide a link on your own internet weblog.
    Many thanks for sharing.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

