A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Routines, Rituals, and Other Things that Go Bump…All Day

I don’t have a vast familiarity with toddlers. Experiencing my son I can’t specifically speak to what is considered average development and what isn’t…for better or worse. He is two years-eight-months-old, and mostly garden variety, but I fully understand the compulsion to assume his growth weighs heavily as strokes of brilliance. Little Man constantly floors me with his leaps in development, but I’ve learned that’s what these stages are. That said, the limited number of professionals who’ve interacted with my son confirmed the few areas I thought were advanced or, at least, more unique to him.

I’ve observed and been told that Little Man is quite skilled in taking turns and sharing…to the point that he doesn’t understand when another child walks up and steals an object out of his hand. He never seems particularly disturbed when it happens, but will stare off befuddled for a beat before walking away to find an alternate source of entertainment. My son tells jokes and is chatty…telling stories to me throughout the day, especially relaying moments he was in trouble. I find this development funny considering his speech delay. Little Man looks to engage others in conversation; professionals working with him say that is unusual for a child his age.

Most interesting, however, is my son’s fairly sophisticated emotional intelligence. Little Man, probably beginning in the nine-month-old realm, possessed an uncanny ability to read others, and significantly alter his behavior and personality to what he correctly perceives others expect from him. Much of the time this serves as a manipulation tactic, and boy is it effective. Other times it seems to meet no other purpose than an intellectual exercise I find disturbing.

Part of this innate ability makes him fairly rigid and sensitive to shifts in his routines. I don’t have an overly complicated routine to our days, but any shift in what Little Man can expect from people and events leaves him struggling if the deviation is more than a day, two if I’m lucky. Some of this, I suspect, is simply toddler. But, I’ve heard early childhood workers in various capacities refer to Little Man as an “observer” or an “organizer.” It isn’t so much I think this merits a diagnosis, rather a personality quirk that makes him who he is.

But, with his need for routines and rituals and his ability to size up his world comes the price of anxiety. I wouldn’t say it amounts to a diagnosis, but times like the recent holiday season I’m reminded of how sensitive Little Man is to changes in his world, even when the change is fantastic and exciting.

At the ripe old age of nine-months, I noticed my son’s personality would change when we had extended visitors or his routine was off for too long. Some of it is age appropriate, but there were changes beyond the fussiness or lack of sleep that so many of my friends describe. Little Man’s temperament and general nature would shift in unexpected ways, but not globally. He would change his mode of interacting based on whoever was the primary personality in the room at any given moment, regardless if my husband or I were in his sights at the time. It’s difficult to describe this long out, and I would assume it was in my head if I hadn’t had practitioners working with toddlers relay what I suspected was a pretty interesting skill.

This brings me to the two week hell that was the holiday season. Family had been in the area, and my husband took the week off. It’s all so thrilling. But, each time Little Man encounters a wave of such excitement, it throws him. His behaviors more concerning as he’s grown older. Most glaring this time around was the aggression. Historically, he’s consistently demonstrated gentle hands with his sister outside the exceptionally occasional snafu easily explained by hunger or fatigue. There have always been independent bouts of jealousy, but Little Man usually has the ability to keep himself contained. And, really, once I read him a story or two on my lap, he’s good to go. Throughout the two week holiday span, however, I worried any time he was around his eight-month-old baby sister. Hardly an encounter occurred without my son pushing or hitting the Warrior Queen. I’m used to seeing an uptick of impulsive and rough behavior when my husband is around, but the incidents escalated dramatically in frequency and intensity.

Sure, during tantrums I might be slapped in the thigh, but twice my son slugged me in the eye without provocation. The biting was out of control as well. Usually such events are reserved for those moments when we pushed out bedtime too long. As the days wore on, it was rare to have his mouth remotely close to skin contact without a biting incident. The entirety of the situation left me flummoxed. My son is a sweet, kind soul who is patient and tolerant, all the more for a toddler.

Frustratingly, the peanut gallery dismissed this crop of behavior incidents as standard toddler practice. The entire span of time that Little Man continued to spiral I asserted he was struggling…all of the excitement and change was too much for him. I defended that these events were not how he navigates his world when the three of us are doing our thing. No one believed me. I began doubting myself…maybe he really is this aggressive. Maybe he is changing, and it is for me to adapt, levering my head from the sandy beach I’d grown to love.

Toward the end of the uproar, I had a couple moments when it was only our threesome…maybe just me and Little Man. They were brief and achingly far between, but I’d have glimpses of the existence I was beginning to lose to the recesses of my memory. I worried if we would return once the world settled, but they were a welcome reprieve even they amounted to be fleeting.

As I write this post we are almost a week out from the avalanche of activity. I’ve come to understand that just as easily as Little Man swings to the reckless, he soars back to the son I know. Within a day we returned to our life…flare ups of impulsivity when he’s hungry or tired…or Daddy is home. Once again I enjoyed our outings, watching my son explore his world in delight. All as though nothing had ever changed, nothing occurred.

I enjoy it when I’m right, but perhaps relief is more apt this time around.

233 responses to “Routines, Rituals, and Other Things that Go Bump…All Day

  1. busy do niemiec July 10, 2017 at 10:52 am

    Asking questions are really good thing if you are not understanding something entirely,
    except this article gives pleasant understanding yet.

    Like

  2. przewozy do holandii July 10, 2017 at 10:41 am

    Hi there, every time i used to check website posts here in the early hours in the morning,
    because i enjoy to find out more and more.

    Like

  3. busy do niemiec July 10, 2017 at 10:26 am

    Hi, after reading this awesome paragraph i am also delighted
    to share my knowledge here with mates.

    Like

  4. busy do hoandii July 10, 2017 at 10:03 am

    Thanks for finally talking about >Routines, Rituals, and Other Things that Go Bump…All Day | A Tale of Two Mommies <Liked it!

    Like

  5. busy July 10, 2017 at 6:53 am

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is only placing the other
    person’s website link on your page at appropriate place and
    other person will also do same in support of you.

    Like

  6. przewozy do holandii July 10, 2017 at 6:51 am

    When I originally commented I seem to have
    clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from
    now on each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 10, 2017 at 7:34 pm

      I appreciate your support, and I’m sorry you are having this issue. Unfortunately, it isn’t something I can correct on my end, as I don’t have a list of most of my followers. Might I suggest you unfollow me, and if you wish resubscribe and uncheck that pesky box that is the cause of the troubles in the first place? 🙂

      Like

  7. detektyw wroclaw July 1, 2017 at 9:20 am

    Quality articles or reviews is the key to attract the visitors to pay a quick visit the web
    page, that’s what this web page is providing.

    Like

  8. prywatny detektyw wroclaw July 1, 2017 at 8:28 am

    Ahaa, its good conversation regarding this paragraph at this place at this web
    site, I have read all that, so now me also commenting
    here.

    Like

  9. szybkie pożyczki 24h July 1, 2017 at 5:51 am

    It’s very easy to find out any matter on net as compared to textbooks,
    as I found this piece of writing at this site.

    Like

  10. keys July 1, 2017 at 2:49 am

    I always spent my half an hour to read this blog’s content everyday along with a cup of coffee.

    Like

  11. key July 1, 2017 at 2:46 am

    Thanks for finally writing about >Routines, Rituals,
    and Other Things that Go Bump…All Day | A
    Tale of Two Mommies <Liked it!

    Like

  12. keys July 1, 2017 at 2:30 am

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This piece of writing posted at this site is truly pleasant.

    Like

  13. keyboard keys July 1, 2017 at 1:10 am

    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours
    today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view,
    if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

  14. key June 30, 2017 at 10:29 pm

    After looking at a number of the blog posts on your web site, I really like your way of writing a blog.
    I added it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my web site as
    well and tell me what you think.

    Like

  15. key June 30, 2017 at 9:31 pm

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so
    I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, great blog!

    Like

  16. keys June 30, 2017 at 6:31 pm

    I just couldn’t leave your website prior to suggesting that
    I extremely enjoyed the standard information an individual supply to your guests?
    Is gonna be back often to check up on new posts

    Like

  17. keyboard keys June 30, 2017 at 4:23 pm

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and
    I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

    Like

  18. key June 30, 2017 at 4:22 pm

    I have read so many posts regarding the blogger lovers however
    this article is actually a fastidious piece
    of writing, keep it up.

    Like

  19. keyboard keys June 30, 2017 at 11:31 am

    bookmarked!!, I really like your site!

    Like

  20. keys June 30, 2017 at 11:27 am

    First off I would like to say awesome blog! I had
    a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.

    I have had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting
    my ideas out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost
    just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints?
    Appreciate it!

    Like

    • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) June 30, 2017 at 8:47 pm

      Thank you, you are too kind! Short answer: I don’t. 🙂 It’s definitely a struggle. There is all kinds of advice out there with writing. I see a lot of “write every day no matter what.” That doesn’t work for me. My mind definitely has to be in the zone. I get anxious when I’ve let too much time elapse between sessions/publications/posts, but the fact of the matter is that when I push through and write just to get something on paper, if I’m lucky, it takes three to four times longer to edit to the point of reasonable quality. If I’m in the zone, the quality is better with much less tinkering. That’s my process. So, when I’m in the zone, I try to bang out a few things that I can schedule as a buffer. Right now I’ve been struggling tremendously with thinking clearly. It isn’t anything dramatic, but it’s summer…the light messes with everyone’s sleep. So, I’m not rested enough to be as productive as I’d like. So, plan B is to think of what I can accomplish, and work toward that. I used to need the immediate gratification of short term projects I’d submit or post often. I simply can’t do that now, and it’s much too stressful to even try. Regular posts are my writing priorities. I’m pretty good with that. I’ve been asked enough about an ebook, so I’m attempting to write one. I know nothing about that process, but right now I need a long term project I can chip away at little by little in addition to this site. My goal by the end of the summer is to populate and update some of my other pages…those are my writing goals…hopefully they will be achieved. I’ve found realistic/explicit goals to be what keeps me focused, but I reflect often on the doable nature of what I want to achieve. That is also key for my progress.

      I should also note, because it isn’t obvious in my posts, that I’m trying to preserve/build my primary career as an educator. I have various projects I’m trying to complete in order to build something important to me and have a next step for when my kids are older. That takes quite a bit of energy as well because I need to build a name and reputation in order to break into a system with an untraditional role and experience. I can say more about this venture if you’re interested, but I mention it because it’s all a delicate balance. Also, to say that I don’t consider myself a writer. I’m not sure where this piece will lead for me, so it’s hard to have a plan when I can’t imagine making money off my work in any real sense. I’m open to things, but this is more for personal gratification and a challenge than anything else at the moment. If you are looking to make writing a profession, I’m not sure I could help you. 😉

      Like

  21. prywatny detektyw June 30, 2017 at 9:02 am

    You really make it appear so easy with your presentation but I
    in finding this matter to be really one thing that I believe I might by no means understand.

    It kind of feels too complex and extremely extensive for me.
    I am having a look ahead on your subsequent submit, I’ll try
    to get the cling of it!

    Like

  22. detektyw wroclaw June 30, 2017 at 6:12 am

    I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

    Like

  23. prywatny detektyw June 30, 2017 at 5:44 am

    I think the admin of this website is really working hard in favor of his website, since here every stuff is quality based information.

    Like

  24. pożyczka June 28, 2017 at 7:36 am

    This is a topic which is close to my heart…
    Many thanks! Where are your contact details though?

    Like

  25. kredyty June 28, 2017 at 3:40 am

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

    Like

  26. szybkie pożyczki online June 27, 2017 at 9:23 pm

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this
    article together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount
    of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still
    worthwhile!

    Like

  27. kredyty June 27, 2017 at 8:43 pm

    Simply wish to say your article is as astonishing. The clarity for your put up is simply nice and that i could suppose you are knowledgeable in this subject.
    Fine together with your permission allow me to take hold of
    your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks one million and please keep
    up the rewarding work.

    Like

  28. chwilówki June 27, 2017 at 8:41 pm

    Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you
    I really enjoy reading your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that cover the same subjects? Thanks!

    Like

  29. pożyczka June 27, 2017 at 8:53 am

    of course like your website but you have to test the spelling on several
    of your posts. Many of them are rife with spelling issues
    and I in finding it very bothersome to tell the reality
    however I’ll certainly come again again.

    Like

  30. szybkie pożyczki online June 27, 2017 at 6:45 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre
    talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could
    be giving us something informative to read?

    Like

  31. chwilówki June 27, 2017 at 6:03 am

    Great post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!
    Very helpful info particularly the ultimate part 🙂 I deal with
    such info much. I used to be seeking this certain info for a very lengthy time.
    Thank you and good luck.

    Like

  32. web June 5, 2017 at 1:10 am

    Everyone loves it when individuals get together and share thoughts.

    Great blog, continue the good work!

    Like

  33. web June 4, 2017 at 8:09 am

    It’s remarkable in favor of me to have a website, which is good in favor of my knowledge.

    thanks admin

    Like

  34. single keys June 3, 2017 at 7:33 am

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of
    your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

    Like

  35. click June 2, 2017 at 10:52 pm

    Hi there every one, here every one is sharing these know-how, so it’s fastidious
    to read this weblog, and I used to pay a quick visit
    this blog daily.

    Like

  36. click June 2, 2017 at 9:19 pm

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this
    webpage; this web site includes awesome and in fact excellent material for visitors.

    Like

  37. sklep z kawą June 1, 2017 at 8:11 pm

    Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve consider your stuff
    prior to and you’re just extremely wonderful.
    I really like what you have got right here, certainly
    like what you are stating and the way through which you assert it.
    You make it enjoyable and you continue to take care of to stay
    it sensible. I can not wait to learn much more
    from you. This is actually a terrific site.

    Like

  38. herbata June 1, 2017 at 11:18 am

    I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally,
    if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the
    net will be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

  39. sklep z kawą June 1, 2017 at 5:57 am

    I needed to thank you for this wonderful read!! I absolutely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I have got you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

    Like

  40. sklep z kawą June 1, 2017 at 4:43 am

    Its not my first time to pay a visit this website,
    i am visiting this web site dailly and take pleasant data from here every day.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

