A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

Lazy Weekend Mornings…

My three-year-old little man didn’t wake especially early, but the rest of the house was still asleep. I’d been up for an hour enjoying the easy quiet of the house…wasting time as Mommies do when no one is around. It was too early for me to be roaming the house, but the lure of no one else around was too strong, and that’s why caffeine exists.

Eventually, my son treks downstairs, eating his banana in front of the sofa where I continue to lay. Upon finishing the prelude to his breakfast, he walks to the bookcase housing almost the entirety of our children’s reading collection, and chooses his latest passionate obsession.

Image result for ping the duck book

Mr. Man climbs into my arms, snuggling close. My son has the tale mostly memorized…at least the first few pages, so he begins until it is my turn to take over. In a relatively hushed utterance I read each page, my son rapt. He periodically stops me to inquire about the illustrations…the reflection in the water…the rings around the fishing birds’ necks…asking if Ping looks happy. Small inquires like that are typical to my curious little boy. My son continued to burrow into the snuggle, telling his love for me during breaks between the repetitive story renditions.

Little Man and I agree to change his diaper after I read one of his favorite pigeon books.

Image result for pigeon finds a hot dog

But, just as the story concluded and Mr. Man sought the solitary image of the eaten hot dog among the tantalizing complete ones on the back cover, he heard Daddy stirring upstairs. The spell was broken. My son rushed to meet his hero. Simultaneously, Warrior Queen announced her awakened state with cries to join the morning rumble. I guess the diaper will wait…

9 responses to “Lazy Weekend Mornings…

  1. thewritewomanblog July 11, 2017 at 12:02 am

    Your mornings seem very much like mine, waking up early just to have some quiet time and some unhindered time for exercise. As long as they are sleeping, everything seems rosy but wonder what happens when they open their eyes, I am left in a roller coaster of doing one job after another, reading and playing with them included, that some time for myself is close to impossible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandi July 6, 2017 at 4:35 pm

    My kids never liked reading. It was something we had to force later. I’m still fighting with my daughter and she just finished 5th grade. My son, finally in the 6th grade, started reading on his own – The Harry Potter series, the Catching Fire series, etc. He’s now entering 8th grade and I’m hoping my daughter will finally feel like reading books. Her teacher said she didn’t get interested in books until 6th grade (which was the case for my son) so fingers crossed – this is the year!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

