A Tale of Two Mommies

…because more seems excessive…

When there isn’t rivelry…

Since having my children, there are moments that I’m so touched or in love or something that I can hardly stand to exist in my body. I’ve never experienced anything like it, but it’s almost painfully crippling. This morning was one of those moments.

Image result for explosion

(Wallpaper Cave knows it is inexplicably and profoundly exquisite.)

I’d woken in the early five realm. It’s summer’s excruciatingly early light that pokes me until laying in bed becomes pointless and annoying. I exercise at this time. I’d like to say that this specific perk allows me ample time to myself. Sadly, my children are also early risers in the summer. But, I usually am able to clear half my routine and finish the remaining portion during a synchronized nap. This morning the children slept into the last remaining sixes. I was enjoying my book, meaning to stop, but deciding to read just a bit longer while everyone slept. I almost finished my entire day’s exercise goal when Warrior Queen woke.

She’s usually dramatically unhappy about something…my little sprite so very assertive, and I adore it so much in her. I hope I nurture it effectively that it doesn’t diminish with the passing years. This morning…like many mornings…she wakes cranky, complaining immediately for me to retrieve her. Naturally I drag my feet to do so.

Image result for slow

(Search Engine Land obviously has small children who wake-up much too early.)

But, as I climb the stairs I hear she’s no longer unhappy, and it is a relatively quiet, joyful noise I’ve never witnessed from her. The sound unmuted because the door was ajar. I assumed it was my husband for the instant it took to see into the room.

Little Man had wandered in, and he was speaking quietly to his sister, and holding her small, delicate hand. And, she was just so happy, rapt looking at him standing before her. I had scant seconds to watch them before Little Man noticed, and Warrior Queen soon followed his gaze, begrudgedly letting go the vision of her big brother. My son greeted me warmly telling me that he was talking to his little sister. I’m not a terribly emotional person, but I just about teared agreeing with him, running my fingers through his thick, curly hair. I kissed the spot my hands left. Turning my eyes to my fierce little girl, her laughing eyes beaming at me. Outstretched arms, I lift Warrior Queen with her grabbing, patting hands and position her to my left side, Little Man dancing in tow. Our train ricketed down the stairs while my husband continued to sleep, thus beginning another day.

13 responses to “When there isn’t rivelry…

  1. Sandi July 7, 2017 at 5:08 pm

    I’m waiting for your next post!

    Like

    • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 7, 2017 at 5:43 pm

      Bless you! I believe I have one scheduled ten days from when this one was posted…Having trouble banging them out these days…

      Like

      • Sandi July 7, 2017 at 5:44 pm

        Yes, that happens to the best of us. I took a year off…

        Like

      • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 7, 2017 at 5:51 pm

        My mind is one giant “year” off…sigh…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sandi July 7, 2017 at 5:53 pm

        Stick with our little group, you’ll be inspired soon enough. Follow the same boards… and although parenting is great material. (trust me, have blogs and blogs of my kids stuff) there’s plenty to write about outside of the fambam.

        Like

      • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 7, 2017 at 5:57 pm

        Unfortunately, inspiration isn’t the problem; it’s time. I’ve been trying to branch out a bit. I have two stories I’ve been trying to publish. I’ve also had enough people inquire about an ebook that I started that little project. We’ll see if it’s worth the effort as I go. I was publishing about a piece a month, but I just can’t keep up. The writing thing is secondary for me, so figuring out how to efficiently publish x genre of work is more concentration than I have at the moment. I’m also trying to keep my resume current with stuff that is more in line with my pre kids career…just too much stuff going on right now that I had to scale it back. I’m sure I’d feel more productive if I was sleeping more, but I think I’ll have to wait for the darker early mornings to return.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sight11 July 8, 2017 at 1:50 pm

        … My husband continued to sleep..(Classic male mindset) .. Hold on I am a man.. On the bright side parenting is hard.. Hold on I don’t know anything about it.. Well how are you even getting time to write these posts.. Your energy should be zapped.. By the way on a more serious note.. You should always take care of your health.. I don’t know much about it but i read an article on a journal about how post pregnancy hormones take some time to reach back to their normal levels.. Mood Swing and all that stuff.. Take care..

        Like

      • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 8, 2017 at 2:33 pm

        Ah yes, taking care of myself is the ongoing battle. At times I’m better at it than most, but I succumb to the same insecurities as so many others…hormones or not. My husband has his own ride, so I try not to roll my eyes too much. 😉

        Like

      • Sight11 July 8, 2017 at 2:46 pm

        I again don’t know about these insecurities. But i do know that people always choose(or ignore) one aspect of health, they either choose physical health or mental one.. (learned myself the hard way).. So rest your body and mind… Don’t barter with your health..

        Like

      • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 8, 2017 at 4:03 pm

        So, so true… It’s all a perpetual balance that I routinely shit the bed on some piece of.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandi July 3, 2017 at 6:39 pm

    We used to just stare at the kids sleeping and we’d lean down to sniff their baby scented head. As they grew, we still enter and look at them sleeping – except not we can’t see their faces – my daughter’s crazy hair all in her face and our son, wrapped up in his blanket like a mummy (face included) There are times we just stop and look – most of the time, though, I’m yellin’ at them to knock it off – each doing something to the other…but every so often, they will be nice. I live for those moments.

    Like

    • Allison Alter (apprehensively expecting) July 3, 2017 at 6:54 pm

      My son is a total douche face to his sister a good chunk of the time…tired…hangry, which is often enough to make things unpleasant. He’s just a bit over three, so I’m hoping it’s normal. :/ But, more an more he’ll do sweet things for her unprovoked. I greatest hope is that peace will kiss our household when she’s old enough to punch him back…kick him in the shins…SOMETHING. Right now she just complains about EVERYTHING, and I’m starting to wonder if she’s picking it up from me. That’s possible for a 14 month old, right?

      Like

      • Sandi July 3, 2017 at 7:01 pm

        Let me tell you, My son is now 13 and daughter 11. When they were toddlers, when he was 3, he’d be so mean. Launch metal hot wheels car at her forehead…Karate Chop her in the neck as she was sitting the kitchen / fall back and hit head hard. She quickly learned. When she could walk and was very sturdy, she came up behind him one day and I heard him screaming…I came out to see him looking somewhat of a different race with almond shaped eyes – barely open/slanted because his sister had gotten behind him, reached her hands around to his face…and grabbed the skin next to his eyes and pulled backward as hard as she could. I don’t know where she learned that move…it look like something out of a self-defense class. What the? My kids fight all the time – classic what you think siblings would be in the old days – nowadays, in the area we are, I always laugh when parents tell me – oh, our kids get along so well. Inferring it’s a parenting thing. Oh, good for you. Mine are driving me crazy and I have to ref – where’s my whistle? FOUL

        Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

